European Parliament

Brian Crowley and Tony BlairThe European Parliament (EP) has 736 members, 12 of whom are Irish.  It is elected to protect European citizens’ rights and interests.  The EP makes European Union laws and determines the EU’s annual budget (jointly with the Council of Ministers).

European elections take place every 5 years and Ireland currently elects 12 MEPs in 4 constituencies.  Every Irish citizen and every EU citizen resident in Ireland over the age of 18 whose name appears on the register of electors is entitled to vote in European elections.

The European Parliament makes decisions that affect us all, so make sure you have a say in electing your MEPs.

Parliamentary Activities

Read more about the role of MEPs

Visit Parliament

The Parliament receives visitors in Brussels, Luxembourg and Strasbourg, if you are interested please see the Visit Parliament page.